Blog Entry

On picking U.S. Open winner, all bets are off

Posted on: June 13, 2011 5:23 pm
Edited on: June 15, 2011 4:13 pm

BETHESDA, Md. -- So, you think you know something, huh?

For those who believe they might have a hunch, a nigglin itch, about who might win the 101st U.S. Open this week, well, there's still time to reconsider before plunking down any dinero with your friends.

Listed below are the winners from the PGA Tour this season. The first column represents the ranking of the winner that week, while the second represents his Sagarin ranking that particular week. The OWGR and Sagarins are calculated over 24- and 12-month intervals, respectively.

In other words, more than twice as many players (seven) from outside the OWGR top 200 have won this year compared to those in the top 10 with victories.

Still wanna bet on the U.S. Open this week? Hey, it's your money, but we tried to warn you.


Where they ranked
Tournament Winner OWGR Sagarin
Tournament of Champions Jonathan Byrd 121 113
Sony Open Mark Wilson 237 222
Bob Hope Classic Jhonattan Vegas 187 197
Farmers Insurance Open Bubba Watson 33 64
Phoenix Open Mark Wilson 91 188
Pebble Beach National ProAm D.A. Points 167 140
Northern Trust Open Aaron Baddeley 224 74
WGC-Match Play Championship Luke Donald 9 7
Mayakoba Golf Classic Johnson Wagner 377 214
Honda Classic Rory Sabbatini 102 117
WGC-Cadillac Championship Nick Watney 31 5
Puerto Rico Open Michael Bradley 562 368
Transitions Championship Gary Woodland 153 189
Arnold Palmer Invitational Martin Laird 40 52
Houston Open Phil Mickelson 6 10
The Masters Charl Schwartzel 29 22
Texas Open Brendan Steele 233 160
The Heritage Brandt Snedeker 66 70
Zurich Open Bubba Watson 16 25
Wells Fargo Championship Lucas Glover 110 99
Players Championship K.J. Choi 35 37
The Colonial David Toms 44 17
Byron Nelson Championship Keegan Bradley 203 162
The Memorial Tournament Steve Stricker 8 3
St. Jude Classic Harrison Frazar 583 519
AVERAGE 146.68 122.96
Category: Golf
Tags: u.s. open
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or